Saturday, February 21, 2009

Happy Birthday......


This is a tribute to one of my best friends. Today is her 20th birthday. It’s hard to believe that we have really only been friends for a year, I feel like I have known her my whole life. She is the most AMAZING person I have ever met. Anyone who comes in contact with her will agree that she is a wonderful kind hearted person. She has never really met anyone she doesn’t like. But I am going to tell you the things I love about her and what makes her one of my best friends:

1. She is her own person: This girl really doesn’t care what people think of her and it’s great. You will never see her stress over what people might say about her, she is too good for that. She has her own style, which is a mix of everyday sweats and then she will WOW you when she really gets dressed. She is a mix of a little ghetto, a little country and a little plain o’le white girl. But this is what makes her so unique and different from anyone I’ve ever known.

2. She is always positive: No matter what is happening she will always have a smile on her face. Seeing the positive in all of life she makes in contagious to where others get it too. There is nothing that can take this away from her. This is what makes her the only person you want to be around when you feel like your world is falling apart. After spending time with her, you know it will be all right.

3. No Drama: Unlike most girls she does not have drama, she HATES drama, LOTHS drama. You will never see her involved in it, near it or even talking about it. This is something some girls thrive on, but not this one. There will never be an ounce of it in her life. And she is not afraid to tell someone that she hates drama

4. Passion for the game: Even though she doesn’t get all the playing time she wants, my friend has passion for the game and will do all she can to show that. She works hard, encourages others and would never give up just because she doesn’t get what she wants. On any given night, you will see her yelling and encouraging her teammate. This is because she believes in them, and just loves the game. She even has passion for a game she doesn’t play. Sitting and watching it alone, concentrating so intently. Sometimes it’s better for her not even to watch in because she will get too upset. Her passion is unlike anyone you would know.

5. Commitment: When it comes to be a friend she is committed to you forever, there is no end in sight. She is going to let you know she is here for you no matter what. She is not the type of girl to throw in the towel and call it quits. There are friends she has had her whole life and those people know that she is there. Her commitment is unreal and something you don’t find today.

6. Fun sayings: Sometime you wonder where she gets the things she says, from her “Hey, guurrl” to her “boo boo” she will always keep you laughing. You never really know what she is going to say and how she will say it. She will even sit up in the middle of the night sleeping and make you laugh. Sometimes when she gets frustrated you have to hold back the smile because of how she says what she is frustrated about.

7. Forgiveness: One of the strongest attributes she has is the ability to forgive. She has never held a grudge and realizes that life is too short for that. Even if someone has hurt her deeply she will still forgive them. And what makes her so great about forgiveness is that she will forget about what happened and not hold it against them, it’s like a new start. She knows that forgiving someone is stronger than walking away.

There is so much more that is AMAZING about her that the list could go on for days and days. But I’m going to give you the chance to get to know her. For those of you who don’t know her, you will by her friendly smile, her childlike playfulness, and her kind heart.
I know that she will read this because I am going to send this to her. So this is now to my best friend: I want you to know that you are the most wonderful person I have ever met. I know that we have had some good times and some really bad times. But at the end of the day know that I will ALWAYS love you and will always be here for you. Thank for being you, and loving me for me, and changing my life. I could not image my life without you. All I have left to say is HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Beth Moore

For those of you who have never been through a Beth Moore study, I think you should. She is an amazing women who will rock you world. I have joined a new community group and let me just say that in one night the study of Beth's is changing my life...so for those who have never encountered this women I would challenge you to do so....








Monday, February 16, 2009

Much needed weekend with "JG"


I have to admit I was a little depressed going into this weekend because there was a good number of my close friends who would not be around due to games, boyfriends, jobs and just not living here. Earlier in the week I found out that the other single girls in my life were going away for the weekend and I had not been invited. I was not invited because one of them assumed I had a "HOT DATE"..I had to kindly reminder her that I don't remember what those are, seeing as I haven't had one in so long. It's like you turn 25yrs old and the dates just DIE!!!!...

Friday night I decided instead of staying home and eating ice-cream and watching movies that would make me feel worse about my life, I would go babysit. While I was on my way I found out one of my best friends Julie was going to be there babysitting too. I was super exciting, since her and I live about 2mins away but never get to spend time together. Needless to say we both played with babies and had a blast. When we were done we went over this couple from the churches house and just hung out together. They had guitar hero which was AMAZING..i hadn't played in so long but didn't lose my touch ( i beat all the boys), this could be another reason why I can't get a date..after that we went to our friend John's house and watched a movie..this was a long night..didn't get home till 3am..but it was a blast


The next morning Julie and I had woken up early and decided to go for a walk (we had a lot to talk about)..as we walked it started to rain, so we went to to mall, had a great lunch at the Chick-fil-a and then went to try on clothes...this was the most fun and we had a great time..when leaving the mall we decided we would come back one day soon and try on prom dresses (this is the only friend I can do this with and to us it just a normal day)..after that she had a date with a boy and I had a date with my bed ( a much needed nap)..she kind of felt bad that I was going to go home and be by myself but I told her I would not be alone but had a date later that night with about 13 tall, somewhat good looking men..ok don't get that excited it I was going to the men basketball game...i wish they would have won but sometimes wishes don't always come true..but the night for them was not a complete waste, the men on the bench did complete the whole game they play where they all pass the ball down the bench ( this is really exciting for them, I guess its a bench thing)...after the game I went out to eat with 2 of the girls on the woman's basketball team, they needed some cheering up..it was a good night...


Sunday was another fun day, went to church with Julie, ran around the church with Julie, went tanning, came home, watched Clemson lose a game they should have won, took a nap, went back to church with Julie. Then went to our friend John and Wynn's house to watch the All Star game. One the way to their place we stopped by store and our cashier looked like he was having a long night, so we started to talk to him. As we were talking Julie asked him if he was upset that he was going to miss the All Star game, he told us he doesn't really like basketball...ok i don't want to offend anyone but I have to say this..it was the first black man I have ever met that doesn't like basketball, personally I didn't know there could be one..but anyways...John and Wynn's was fun and we had a blast...


All in all Julie and I were excited that everyone had left for the weekend because we really needed time together and had not had it in such a long time...

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Dr. McCutie

Sunday night one of my friends had to go to the hospital because she was having major pains in her stomach. We were very irritated with the service of this hospital and were in very bad moods because of it. There were two of us with this friend and we were trying everything to get her mind off the pain. As this poor girl is throwing up and being mean to the nurses, we knew that she need drugs quickly for the pain. The nurse said that the doctor would be in shortly. When the doctor walked through the door, my friend who was in the middle of throwing-up said "It would figure you would be HOT!!!" First who says that when they are throwing up and who says that to their doctor. Well to tell the truth the doctor was a cutie. And it would so happen that his name was Dr. McCray. So since Dr. McDreamy is taken and Dr. McSteamy is taken, we decied to call him Dr. McCutie. I sat there thanking God it was not me throwing up and that I looked kinda cute. So moral of the story is you never know who your doctor can be so be perpared for a cutie to walk through the door.

Monday, February 2, 2009

McDonald's Honey

I was in the drive-thru of McDonald's this weekend with my friends Jacqui and Jessica, I was craving a #10 (for those of you who don't that is the nuggets meal, which is my fav)...so I asked them if they wanted anything, which Jacqui only wanted a cheeseburger. So ordering a #10 LARGE size with a cheeseburger on the side, I was the fat kid...when I was done ordering the man over the intercom asked me what type of sauce I wanted with my nuggets. I told him I wanted honey and LOTS of it (seeing as with this meal, you get a good amount of nuggets but they only give you 2 honey's, what do they want me to do with that, drizzle some on there..umm no..I'm a fat kid remember, but this is beside the point), so the man repeated the fact I wanted lots of honey and then told me it was going to be a problem, seeing as he didn't get off for another 5 minutes. YES that's right the fat girl got it on in the drive-thru of McDonald's, over the intercom...we had a good laugh in the car, by the time I got to the window his replacement had come so I didn't even get to see this mysterious smooth talker..I guess I'll just have to wait till next time..so for all of you out there, beware of this mysterious man....hahaha

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Trust

What is trust? Is trust real or something we make up in our heads? When do we realize that a level a trust has been broken? Is it in a lie, a word, holding something back, or all of the above? A definition of trust is: it is where you expose your vulnerabilities to people, but believing they will not take advantage of your openness. Looking at this definition is trust real? I believe it, its that point when someone has become so real to you, so close to you, that for once in your life you can let your guard down and just be you. There is no judgment, no expectations, no demands, just acceptance. This is that ultimate level of being vulnerable. Most times you will allow this person the honor of knowing you deeply, a level of closeness no one will ever experience. But then what happens when that trust is broken? What happens to that relationship? That feeling you can never trust that person again. That relationship can never be the same, there is always that wonder if you can look at them the same or give them that honor again. Open up and be vulnerable to them again. In your mind it's always the question, what else can they do to brake my trust. Trust is like a vase..once it's broken, even though you can fix it, it will never be the same. It is really sad when this is broken between two people. So the next time you are about to brake someones trust, think to yourself, "Is this worth the outcome of broken trust?"

I am not writing this for myself but talked to a friend tonight who had a level of trust broken and I really felt like I needed to write this for them, because it could have been me.

Weekend even though it's Tuesday

Ok so this is a little late but I'm going to write about my weekend, it was both restful but busy at the same time. The weekend started with Friday, once the clock hit 5:00pm I was out of the office. For my work-studies (which according to my friend beth, they are the most amazing things in the world) they know that I do not work past 5:00pm, they have come accustom to having all of their books packed and ready to head out the door by that time, otherwise I am kicking them out of work. However, at 5:00pm Beth and I had to go run some errors and for the two of us this is nothing new. She was getting ready to spend a fun filled night with her boyfriend, who I think is probably the funniest guy I have ever met. Then after the errors I went to dinner with my friend Kristina, her amazing family and of course to abnormally tall boyfriend, who I adore. We went to an Italian restaurant downtown, which is one of my favorites. We talked, we ate, we laughed, what else do people do when eating Italian food, its kind of like that comes with the meal. It was fun night. The next day I was on what my job calls "duty", which means I am a prisoner on the campus and must be here if one of the children gets into trouble. However, this Saturday I didn't seem to mind it because I spent the whole day in bed. The only time I got out of the bed was to go to lunch with Beth, who surprisingly wanted to eat in the cafe. Now Beth graduated in May and probably ate in the cafe a whole 5 times when she was a student and now here she was getting out of her bed, leaving her apartment to come eat in the cafe, I really can't explain. Then it was back to bed for me.

After I laid in bed ALL day I had to get up to make myself look presentable for the men's basketball game. I really need to tell you that if it wasn't for a few select men on that team (you know who you are), I would have continued my lazy day in bed. So I there I was at the game supporting Kristina's abnormally tall boyfriend, who may I say does not play due to a broken arm, and some of his other friends that keep him company on the bench. As I was at the game all I could think about was how I had hardly had anything to eat all day. The men lost sadly, sorry guys. But then I was hoping that I could get some food. However, being the good friend I was I told Kristina I would wait with her for her boyfriend to come out of the locker room . Well 2hrs later the boys were still in there and I was now tired and hungry, not a good combination. They did eventually come out but I lost track of the time.
Sunday was a pretty chill day. Went to breakfast at IHOP, which was amazing. For anyone going you should try the endless pancakes, its true that they just keep coming. Then went to a friends house for the day. But ended the day with my friend munchkin, who is this feisty girl who plays soccer. But all in all the weekend was fun....now this upcoming weekend will have some great stories...